Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
30 1
Mon, May 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Tue, May 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Wed, May 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Thu, May 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Fri, May 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Sat, May 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Sun, May 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Mon, May 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Tue, May 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Wed, May 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Thu, May 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Fri, May 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Sat, May 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Sun, May 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Mon, May 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Tue, May 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Wed, May 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Thu, May 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Fri, May 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Sat, May 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Sun, May 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Mon, May 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Tue, May 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Wed, May 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Thu, May 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Fri, May 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Sat, May 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Sun, May 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Mon, May 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Tue, May 30
LCWR National Assembly
31
Wed, May 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Planned Giving Opportunities

There are many ways you can support the Sisters of Charity, BVM and receive tax benefits.

When naming the BVMs as beneficiary of a bequest, insurance policy, retirement plan or a trust, you should instruct the attorney preparing legal documents that the corporate title for the BVMs is, "Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary"; Dubuque, Iowa. The Sisters of Charity, BVM is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization.

If you have questions or need more information about the various gift options available, please contact the BVM Development Office at 563-585-2854 or by email at development@bvmcong.org.

As with any planned gift, please consult with your attorney and/or tax advisor before making any decision.

Charitable Bequests

A charitable bequest supports the work of the Sisters of Charity, BVM after your death. A charitable bequest may be included at the time of writing a will or it may be added later by a codicil. A bequest does not affect your current income and may favorably impact the amount owed in estate taxes. View sample bequest language.

Life Insurance Policies

A gift of life insurance is an easy and appealing way to make a significant future gift to the Sisters of Charity, BVM. A review of insurance needs might disclose that some policies are no longer as useful as they once were. The cash value of an existing policy that is no longer needed could be transferred to the Sisters of Charity, BVM. It is also possible to name the Sisters of Charity, BVM as beneficiaries of a new or existing life insurance policy.

Charitable Gift Annuities

A charitable gift annuity allows the donor to make a gift to the congregation and receive fixed annuity payments for life. The size of the payments depends on the age of the donor at the time the charitable gift annuity is established. The donor receives a tax deduction for a portion of the gift. The charitable gift annuity agreement is can be easily completed by mail (Note: Congregational policy has some age and gift restrictions and may not be available to residents of all states. For more information contact the BVM Development Office.)

Charitable Trusts

A variety of trust instruments exist that can assist a donor in estate planning while affording the opportunity to make a significant contribution to the Sisters of Charity, BVM. For more information about the types and benefits of various charitable trusts, contact the BVM Development Office.

Retirement Plans

Retirement fund benefits are the most expensive asset for family members to inherit. Nearly half of your retirement plan assets can be eaten away by taxes at your death. By naming a charity, such as the Sisters of Charity, BVM, to receive all or a portion of your company pension plan, IRA, 401(k) or Keogh plan, you can offset some of the taxes your loved ones have to pay and preserve more of your estate for the people and organizations that matter the most in your life.

As with any planned gift, please consult with your attorney and/or tax advisor before making any decision.