Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
30 1
Mon, May 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Tue, May 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Wed, May 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Thu, May 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Fri, May 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Sat, May 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Sun, May 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Mon, May 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Tue, May 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Wed, May 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Thu, May 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Fri, May 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Sat, May 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Sun, May 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Mon, May 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Tue, May 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Wed, May 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Thu, May 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Fri, May 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Sat, May 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Sun, May 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Mon, May 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Tue, May 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Wed, May 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Thu, May 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Fri, May 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Sat, May 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Sun, May 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Mon, May 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Tue, May 30
LCWR National Assembly
31
Wed, May 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Stance on Human Trafficking

The Sisters of Charity, BVM, in accordance with our mission and core values of freedom, education, charity and justice, oppose the trafficking of human persons for any purpose whatsoever.

We stand in solidarity with all who work to eliminate this tragic evil. We pledge ourselves as a congregation to these actions:

  • Through prayer and study, we will educate ourselves and others regarding the magnitude, causes and consequences of human trafficking.
  • Through collaboration with others, we will work for changes in society on both the state and federal level by supporting anti-trafficking legislation that protects the rights of all human beings and helps to provide resources for their healing as survivors of trafficking.
  • We will participate in highlighting issues related to trafficking and all forms of sexual and labor exploitation, especially prior to political, cultural, and athletic events.

BVM Senate, Summer 2014

 

Human Trafficking Background:
Trafficking of human persons is the buying and selling of people for any purpose, including sex, prostitution, forced marriages, servitude and forced labor. Trafficking is exploitation and a violation of human rights and human dignity and is intrinsically evil. The practice of human trafficking exists worldwide. It is violent, inhumane, and incompatible with the values of the Gospel. More than 20 million persons, a conservative estimate, are victims of human trafficking worldwide. The profits exceed $150 billion a year. (2014 Trafficking in Persons Report, U.S. Department of State). As of this date, educated estimates are that between 17,500 and 18,500 people, mostly women and children, are trafficked each year into the United States. The U.S. has one of the largest demands for this criminal activity. Each year in the United States an estimated 100,000-300,000 American children are at risk of falling victim to sex trafficking. Approximately 600,000 to 800,000 victims annually are trafficked across international borders.

This form of modern day slavery has been opposed by the Leadership Conference of Women Religious, Union of International Superiors General, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, and numerous other social service, not-for-profit, religious, educational and civic entities.

 

Resources: