Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10
Sun, Sep 10
International Day of Peace Events
11
Mon, Sep 11
International Day of Peace Events
12
Tue, Sep 12
International Day of Peace Events
13
Wed, Sep 13
International Day of Peace Events
14
Thu, Sep 14
International Day of Peace Events
15
Fri, Sep 15
International Day of Peace Events
16
Sat, Sep 16
International Day of Peace Events
17
Sun, Sep 17
International Day of Peace Events
18
Mon, Sep 18
International Day of Peace Events
19
Tue, Sep 19
International Day of Peace Events
20
Wed, Sep 20
International Day of Peace Events
21
Thu, Sep 21
International Day of Peace
International Day of Peace Events
22
Fri, Sep 22
International Day of Peace Events
23
Sat, Sep 23
International Day of Peace Events
24
Sun, Sep 24
International Day of Peace Events
25
Mon, Sep 25
International Day of Peace Events
26
Tue, Sep 26
International Day of Peace Events
27
Wed, Sep 27
International Day of Peace Events
28
Thu, Sep 28
International Day of Peace Events
29
Fri, Sep 29
International Day of Peace Events
30
Sat, Sep 30
International Day of Peace Events
8th Day Center Gathering of Gratitude
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Immigration Reform

BVM Senate Affirmation of Comprehensive Immigration Reform

Conscious of the present suffering and injustices experienced by our 21st century immigrants and with an awareness that our current United States immigration policy is morally unacceptable, seriously flawed and out of date and

Infidelity to the Word of God as spoken

in Scripture
in our BVM Constitutions and
in the history of our congregation

  • You shall treat the stranger who resides with you no differently than the natives born among you; have the same love for that person as for yourself; for you, too, were once strangers in the land of Egypt.
    Lev. 19:34
  • As women of the Church we are called to give strong public witness against oppression brought about by unjust political and social structures locally, nationally and internationally.
    BVM Constitutions #17
  • Five Irish laywomen, Mary Frances Clarke, Margaret Mann, Rose O'Toole, Eliza Kelly and Catherine Byrne left the comparative security of their school on North Anne Street, Dublin, to minister to the needs of the Irish immigrants in North America.
    BVM Constitutions 1989 - A Brief History

We, the members of the 2010 Senate of the Sisters of Charity, BVM, do proclaim and affirm our commitment to comprehensive immigration reform.

This affirmation is in accord with 1984 Legislation on Corporate Public Witness.

Corporate Public Witness: Officers Given Affirmation (1984)
That, as women of the Gospel, and in keeping with our Constitutions' mandate, we
support and affirm the Officers of the BVM congregation in giving corporate public
witness in the name of the BVM congregation on social justice issues.

Submitted by Social Justice Network - Sisters of Charity, BVM
July 22, 2010