Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10
Sun, Sep 10
International Day of Peace Events
11
Mon, Sep 11
International Day of Peace Events
12
Tue, Sep 12
International Day of Peace Events
13
Wed, Sep 13
International Day of Peace Events
14
Thu, Sep 14
International Day of Peace Events
15
Fri, Sep 15
International Day of Peace Events
16
Sat, Sep 16
International Day of Peace Events
17
Sun, Sep 17
International Day of Peace Events
18
Mon, Sep 18
International Day of Peace Events
19
Tue, Sep 19
International Day of Peace Events
20
Wed, Sep 20
International Day of Peace Events
21
Thu, Sep 21
International Day of Peace
International Day of Peace Events
22
Fri, Sep 22
International Day of Peace Events
23
Sat, Sep 23
International Day of Peace Events
24
Sun, Sep 24
International Day of Peace Events
25
Mon, Sep 25
International Day of Peace Events
26
Tue, Sep 26
International Day of Peace Events
27
Wed, Sep 27
International Day of Peace Events
28
Thu, Sep 28
International Day of Peace Events
29
Fri, Sep 29
International Day of Peace Events
30
Sat, Sep 30
International Day of Peace Events
8th Day Center Gathering of Gratitude
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Social Justice Overview

BVM Constitutions

"As women of the Church we are called to give strong public witness against oppression brought about by unjust political and social structures, locally, nationally and internationally."

"We are called to participate in the world-wide struggle of those who suffer injustice, ignorance and indignity."

Over the years individual BVMs have participated in a variety of actions on behalf of social justice: boycotts, vigils, nonviolent demonstrations, acts of civil disobedience, shareholders meetings, letter-writing campaigns, phone calls to congressional leaders, prayer. As a religious community we have taken corporate stances and we contribute to social justice causes.

The BVM Community has taken a corporate stance against the death penalty; it has long espoused peace and nonviolence as well as an "option for the poor," and especially for women and children's rights and dignity. We stand in solidarity with all who work to eliminate human trafficking. In celebrating our 175th anniversary year we focus on water as God's gift to all people; it is a human need and right that everyone have access to clean, comprar cialis, healthy drinking water. We empathize with the plight of immigrants today, both legal and undocumented, believing that fear, ignorance and prejudice do not work justice for minority people. (These links are to text in the Current Issues of Social Justice section below.)

We believe in education as a first step in familiarizing ourselves and others with social justice issues. We believe in a better future for the United States and the world, and we believe in the power of prayer as we pursue our dreams for such a future. Finally, we believe in action, in accord with each person's ability to "think globally and act locally." We invite our friends to join us in pursuit of a more just society and world.

Learn more through these social justice websites: