Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 1
Wed, Mar 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Thu, Mar 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Fri, Mar 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Sat, Mar 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Sun, Mar 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Mon, Mar 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Tue, Mar 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Wed, Mar 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Thu, Mar 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Fri, Mar 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Sat, Mar 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Sun, Mar 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Mon, Mar 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Tue, Mar 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Wed, Mar 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Thu, Mar 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Fri, Mar 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Sat, Mar 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Sun, Mar 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Mon, Mar 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Tue, Mar 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Wed, Mar 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Thu, Mar 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Fri, Mar 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Sat, Mar 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Sun, Mar 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Mon, Mar 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Tue, Mar 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Wed, Mar 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Thu, Mar 30
LCWR National Assembly
“Immigrant Families Under Fire—A Call to Compassion in the Heartland”
31
Fri, Mar 31
LCWR National Assembly
1
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Community Development Loan Fund

The BVM Community has chosen to invest a portion of its investments in a Community Development Loan Fund. This fund allows us to use our financial resources by investing in people and projects for a specified time.

Win-win situations are created as economically disadvantaged persons receive loans from BVM Community and other groups that enable them to work toward self-sufficiency. Loans for non-profit housing initiatives, for example, enable families to live in decent, affordable housing for the first time.

After a specified time, the principal-the amount loaned-is returned, to be loaned out again.

Through our alternative investments we celebrate that our core values of charity, freedom, education and justice are expressed in our use of money as well as in the work and prayer of our sisters.

Loan Characteristics

Average:
$50,000

Type of Investment:
CDs, loan funds, credit unions, micro-lending funds

Community Investments Initiated Since 1987:
$5,000,000+

Priority Focus:
Underserved communities; housing; micro-lending funds; women and children.

Sample of Community Development Loan Fund Recipients

  • Central Appalachian Peoples
  • Chicago Community Loan Fund / Dubuque Rescue Mission
  • Lakota Fund
  • Humility of Mary Shelter
  • Memphis Area Development Corp.
  • Mercy Loan Fund
  • Native American Bank
  • Northern California Community Loan Fund
  • Portland Youth Builders
  • Self Help Child Care/Working Boys Center, Quito, Ecuador