Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
Sat, Apr 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Sun, Apr 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Mon, Apr 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Tue, Apr 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Wed, Apr 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Thu, Apr 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Fri, Apr 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Sat, Apr 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Sun, Apr 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Mon, Apr 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Tue, Apr 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Wed, Apr 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Thu, Apr 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Fri, Apr 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Sat, Apr 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Sun, Apr 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Mon, Apr 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Tue, Apr 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Wed, Apr 19
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
20
Thu, Apr 20
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
21
Fri, Apr 21
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
22
Sat, Apr 22
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
23
Sun, Apr 23
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
24
Mon, Apr 24
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
25
Tue, Apr 25
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
26
Wed, Apr 26
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
27
Thu, Apr 27
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
28
Fri, Apr 28
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
29
Sat, Apr 29
LCWR National Assembly
CARMA Day of Reflection
30
Sun, Apr 30
St. Mary HS Alumnae Luncheon
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3 4 5 6
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Senate Death Penalty Statement

"We, the Sisters of Charity, of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Dubuque, Iowa, oppose the death penalty. As women religious who are "being freed and helping others enjoy freedom in God's steadfast love," we believe that all life is sacred. We stand in opposition to the devaluation of human life by capital punishment and the use of violence to exact retribution from the perpetrators of violent acts.

"We oppose the state-sanctioned executions of our brothers and sisters done in our name and reject the argument that the death penalty is a deterrent to violence. We assert that violence only continues the cycle of violence and that it is through love that we can end violence.

"We embrace our sisters and brothers who have experienced loss of family members or friends in violent crimes and pray for healing in their suffering.

"We encourage one another as members of the BVM Congregation to work of the abolition of the death penalty through these or other means.


  • By educating ourselves through articles in BVM publications and other resources such as PAX Christi publications and the U.S. Bishops' Good Friday Appeal to End the Death Penalty and Responsibility, Rehabilitation, Restoration;
  • By advocating the use of resources for rehabilitation rather than execution;
  • By encouraging the re-establishment of right relationship between perpetrator and victim through restorative justice programs;
  • By attending prayer vigils in opposition to the death penalty;
  • By writing letters, visiting, or calling elected officials about abolishing the death penalty."

BVM Senate, Summer 2001