Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
Sat, Jul 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Sun, Jul 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Mon, Jul 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Tue, Jul 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Wed, Jul 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Thu, Jul 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Fri, Jul 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Sat, Jul 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Sun, Jul 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Mon, Jul 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Tue, Jul 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Wed, Jul 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Thu, Jul 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Fri, Jul 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Sat, Jul 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Sun, Jul 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Mon, Jul 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Tue, Jul 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Wed, Jul 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Thu, Jul 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Fri, Jul 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Sat, Jul 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Sun, Jul 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Mon, Jul 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Tue, Jul 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Wed, Jul 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Thu, Jul 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Fri, Jul 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Sat, Jul 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Sun, Jul 30
Set of 1967 50th Jubilee
LCWR National Assembly
31
Mon, Jul 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3 4 5
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Senate Death Penalty Statement

"We, the Sisters of Charity, of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Dubuque, Iowa, oppose the death penalty. As women religious who are "being freed and helping others enjoy freedom in God's steadfast love," we believe that all life is sacred. We stand in opposition to the devaluation of human life by capital punishment and the use of violence to exact retribution from the perpetrators of violent acts.

"We oppose the state-sanctioned executions of our brothers and sisters done in our name and reject the argument that the death penalty is a deterrent to violence. We assert that violence only continues the cycle of violence and that it is through love that we can end violence.

"We embrace our sisters and brothers who have experienced loss of family members or friends in violent crimes and pray for healing in their suffering.

"We encourage one another as members of the BVM Congregation to work of the abolition of the death penalty through these or other means.


  • By educating ourselves through articles in BVM publications and other resources such as PAX Christi publications and the U.S. Bishops' Good Friday Appeal to End the Death Penalty and Responsibility, Rehabilitation, Restoration;
  • By advocating the use of resources for rehabilitation rather than execution;
  • By encouraging the re-establishment of right relationship between perpetrator and victim through restorative justice programs;
  • By attending prayer vigils in opposition to the death penalty;
  • By writing letters, visiting, or calling elected officials about abolishing the death penalty."

BVM Senate, Summer 2001