Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
30 1
Mon, May 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Tue, May 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Wed, May 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Thu, May 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Fri, May 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Sat, May 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Sun, May 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Mon, May 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Tue, May 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Wed, May 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Thu, May 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Fri, May 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Sat, May 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Sun, May 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Mon, May 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Tue, May 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Wed, May 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Thu, May 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Fri, May 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Sat, May 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Sun, May 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Mon, May 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Tue, May 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Wed, May 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Thu, May 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Fri, May 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Sat, May 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Sun, May 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Mon, May 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Tue, May 30
LCWR National Assembly
31
Wed, May 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Corporate Stance on Nonviolence

Our concern for nonviolence is rooted in the Gospel, Catholic Social Tradition and in the life of Mary Frances Clarke, who was influenced by the Quaker tradition of peace and nonviolence. Throughout our history, we have engaged in peacemaking, envisioning a world where all persons live in dignity; physical, social, psychological and social/cultural needs are met; and our natural environment is enhanced to nourish future generations.

Listening to the signs of the times we grieve the level of violence experienced in our local communities and in the global community. The desire to live peaceably with all of creation compels us to recommit ourselves to a life of nonviolence.

We live in reverence and gratitude for all life and for all that provides support and sustenance, honor and honesty in our interactions an interconnections with all in the community of creation.

That the Sisters of Charity, BVM affirm our belief in, and commitment to nonviolence by striving to deepen our vision and understanding of nonviolence and sharing that vision with others. Together, we proclaim anew our desire for all to live as free from violence as possible.

BVM Senate, Summer 2014