Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 1
Wed, Mar 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Thu, Mar 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Fri, Mar 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Sat, Mar 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Sun, Mar 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Mon, Mar 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Tue, Mar 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Wed, Mar 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Thu, Mar 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Fri, Mar 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Sat, Mar 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Sun, Mar 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Mon, Mar 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Tue, Mar 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Wed, Mar 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Thu, Mar 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Fri, Mar 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Sat, Mar 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Sun, Mar 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Mon, Mar 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Tue, Mar 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Wed, Mar 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Thu, Mar 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Fri, Mar 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Sat, Mar 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Sun, Mar 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Mon, Mar 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Tue, Mar 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Wed, Mar 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Thu, Mar 30
LCWR National Assembly
“Immigrant Families Under Fire—A Call to Compassion in the Heartland”
31
Fri, Mar 31
LCWR National Assembly
1
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Corporate Stance on Nonviolence

Our concern for nonviolence is rooted in the Gospel, Catholic Social Tradition and in the life of Mary Frances Clarke, who was influenced by the Quaker tradition of peace and nonviolence. Throughout our history, we have engaged in peacemaking, envisioning a world where all persons live in dignity; physical, social, psychological and social/cultural needs are met; and our natural environment is enhanced to nourish future generations.

Listening to the signs of the times we grieve the level of violence experienced in our local communities and in the global community. The desire to live peaceably with all of creation compels us to recommit ourselves to a life of nonviolence.

We live in reverence and gratitude for all life and for all that provides support and sustenance, honor and honesty in our interactions an interconnections with all in the community of creation.

That the Sisters of Charity, BVM affirm our belief in, and commitment to nonviolence by striving to deepen our vision and understanding of nonviolence and sharing that vision with others. Together, we proclaim anew our desire for all to live as free from violence as possible.

BVM Senate, Summer 2014