Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
Sat, Apr 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Sun, Apr 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Mon, Apr 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Tue, Apr 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Wed, Apr 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Thu, Apr 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Fri, Apr 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Sat, Apr 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Sun, Apr 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Mon, Apr 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Tue, Apr 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Wed, Apr 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Thu, Apr 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Fri, Apr 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Sat, Apr 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Sun, Apr 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Mon, Apr 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Tue, Apr 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Wed, Apr 19
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
20
Thu, Apr 20
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
21
Fri, Apr 21
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
22
Sat, Apr 22
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
23
Sun, Apr 23
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
24
Mon, Apr 24
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
25
Tue, Apr 25
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
26
Wed, Apr 26
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
27
Thu, Apr 27
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
28
Fri, Apr 28
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
29
Sat, Apr 29
LCWR National Assembly
CARMA Day of Reflection
30
Sun, Apr 30
St. Mary HS Alumnae Luncheon
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3 4 5 6
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Corporate Stance on Nonviolence

Our concern for nonviolence is rooted in the Gospel, Catholic Social Tradition and in the life of Mary Frances Clarke, who was influenced by the Quaker tradition of peace and nonviolence. Throughout our history, we have engaged in peacemaking, envisioning a world where all persons live in dignity; physical, social, psychological and social/cultural needs are met; and our natural environment is enhanced to nourish future generations.

Listening to the signs of the times we grieve the level of violence experienced in our local communities and in the global community. The desire to live peaceably with all of creation compels us to recommit ourselves to a life of nonviolence.

We live in reverence and gratitude for all life and for all that provides support and sustenance, honor and honesty in our interactions an interconnections with all in the community of creation.

That the Sisters of Charity, BVM affirm our belief in, and commitment to nonviolence by striving to deepen our vision and understanding of nonviolence and sharing that vision with others. Together, we proclaim anew our desire for all to live as free from violence as possible.

BVM Senate, Summer 2014