Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
Sat, Apr 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Sun, Apr 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Mon, Apr 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Tue, Apr 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Wed, Apr 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Thu, Apr 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Fri, Apr 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Sat, Apr 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Sun, Apr 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Mon, Apr 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Tue, Apr 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Wed, Apr 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Thu, Apr 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Fri, Apr 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Sat, Apr 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Sun, Apr 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Mon, Apr 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Tue, Apr 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Wed, Apr 19
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
20
Thu, Apr 20
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
21
Fri, Apr 21
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
22
Sat, Apr 22
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
23
Sun, Apr 23
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
24
Mon, Apr 24
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
25
Tue, Apr 25
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
26
Wed, Apr 26
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
27
Thu, Apr 27
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
28
Fri, Apr 28
LCWR National Assembly
Ecuador Immersion Experience
29
Sat, Apr 29
LCWR National Assembly
CARMA Day of Reflection
30
Sun, Apr 30
St. Mary HS Alumnae Luncheon
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3 4 5 6
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

8th Day Center for Justice

A Critical Alternative Voice to Oppressive Systems

In 1974, the Sisters of Charity, BVM, were one of the founding congregations of 8th Day Center for Justice in Chicago, a grassroots faith-based coalition of religious congregations working for peace and justice. The Center, rooted in the values of nonviolence, mutuality and cooperation, acts as a critical alternative voice to oppressive systems and works to change those systems. The Center collaborates with other coalitions on immigrant justice, environmental justice, military and torture resistance, abolishing capital punishment, women’s issues in the church and society, and beyond.

Over forty later, the BVMs continue their partnership with 8th Day as sponsoring members, and their presence within the coalition is significant. Gwen Farry, BVM serves as a full-time volunteer; Mary Ellen Madden serves as the BVM Staff Member; Joellen McCarthy, BVM serves as the Office Coordinator. Here’s what they have to say about the partnership between the BVMs and 8th Day:

Gwen Farry, BVM

Mary Ellen Madden

Joellen McCarthy, BVM
BVMs were among the six founding communities of 8th day Center for Justice in 1974. BVM Core Values: Education, Charity, Justice and Freedom are exemplified and furthered by the work of 8th Day. The missions of the BVMs and 8th Day are deeply interwoven; each call us to respond to the signs of the times from a place of love, nonviolence, and justice. It is an honor and a blessing to live into these missions alongside the BVMs. Working at 8th Day feels like a natural integration to the values of living and working as a BVM.  The atmosphere of mutuality, nonviolence, and collaboration to which we strive at 8th Day is the world I envision as a BVM.

Upcoming Events

Friday, April 14
Good Friday Walk for Justice, Downtown Chicago

8th Day's 37th annual modern-day Way of the Cross will weave through the streets of downtown Chicago, bringing light the injustices that plague our world today. Each year we partner with various organizations, each of whom contribute a prayer for the Walk. We hope you can join us! More details coming soon...

Resources

Monthly E-Newsletter
Click here to sign up to receive 8th Day's monthly e-newsletter that includes articles and event information!

Quarterly Publication
Click here to view past issues of Centerings, 8th Day's quarterly publication that provides in-depth social analysis on the various issues in which 8th Day is involved.

Upcoming events and stories about past events are always featured on 8th Day's website, www.8thdaycenter.org