Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1
Thu, Jun 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Fri, Jun 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Sat, Jun 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Sun, Jun 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Mon, Jun 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Tue, Jun 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Wed, Jun 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Thu, Jun 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Fri, Jun 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Sat, Jun 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Sun, Jun 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Mon, Jun 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Tue, Jun 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Wed, Jun 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Thu, Jun 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Fri, Jun 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Sat, Jun 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Sun, Jun 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Mon, Jun 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Tue, Jun 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Wed, Jun 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Thu, Jun 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Fri, Jun 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Sat, Jun 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Sun, Jun 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Mon, Jun 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Tue, Jun 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Wed, Jun 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Thu, Jun 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Fri, Jun 30
LCWR National Assembly
1
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

8th Day Center for Justice

A Critical Alternative Voice to Oppressive Systems

In 1974, the Sisters of Charity, BVM, were one of the founding congregations of 8th Day Center for Justice in Chicago, a grassroots faith-based coalition of religious congregations working for peace and justice. The Center, rooted in the values of nonviolence, mutuality and cooperation, acts as a critical alternative voice to oppressive systems and works to change those systems. The Center collaborates with other coalitions on immigrant justice, environmental justice, military and torture resistance, abolishing capital punishment, women’s issues in the church and society, and beyond.

Over forty later, the BVMs continue their partnership with 8th Day as sponsoring members, and their presence within the coalition is significant. Gwen Farry, BVM serves as a full-time volunteer; Mary Ellen Madden serves as the BVM Staff Member; Joellen McCarthy, BVM serves as the Office Coordinator. Here’s what they have to say about the partnership between the BVMs and 8th Day:

Gwen Farry, BVM

Mary Ellen Madden

Joellen McCarthy, BVM
BVMs were among the six founding communities of 8th day Center for Justice in 1974. BVM Core Values: Education, Charity, Justice and Freedom are exemplified and furthered by the work of 8th Day. The missions of the BVMs and 8th Day are deeply interwoven; each call us to respond to the signs of the times from a place of love, nonviolence, and justice. It is an honor and a blessing to live into these missions alongside the BVMs. Working at 8th Day feels like a natural integration to the values of living and working as a BVM.  The atmosphere of mutuality, nonviolence, and collaboration to which we strive at 8th Day is the world I envision as a BVM.

Upcoming Events

Friday, April 14
Good Friday Walk for Justice, Downtown Chicago

8th Day's 37th annual modern-day Way of the Cross will weave through the streets of downtown Chicago, bringing light the injustices that plague our world today. Each year we partner with various organizations, each of whom contribute a prayer for the Walk. We hope you can join us! More details coming soon...

Resources

Monthly E-Newsletter
Click here to sign up to receive 8th Day's monthly e-newsletter that includes articles and event information!

Quarterly Publication
Click here to view past issues of Centerings, 8th Day's quarterly publication that provides in-depth social analysis on the various issues in which 8th Day is involved.

Upcoming events and stories about past events are always featured on 8th Day's website, www.8thdaycenter.org