Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
30 1
Mon, May 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Tue, May 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Wed, May 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Thu, May 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Fri, May 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Sat, May 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Sun, May 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Mon, May 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Tue, May 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Wed, May 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Thu, May 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Fri, May 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Sat, May 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Sun, May 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Mon, May 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Tue, May 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Wed, May 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Thu, May 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Fri, May 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Sat, May 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Sun, May 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Mon, May 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Tue, May 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Wed, May 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Thu, May 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Fri, May 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Sat, May 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Sun, May 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Mon, May 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Tue, May 30
LCWR National Assembly
31
Wed, May 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Vowed Membership

Who are we?

Mary Frances Clarke, our foundress, was a simple Irish woman who, together with her friends, began our community. Her deep faith in God and her love for the people in her life were always her focus. She was sensitive and kind and her letters often included freeing reminders of God's unfailing love. This spirit of freedom and the importance of relationships became part of the great legacy she left us.

Over five thousand women have entered the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the past one hundred seventy-five years and we continue to be inspired by Mother Clarke's tradition of keeping God at the center of our lives and cherishing relationships.

Our lives are dedicated to "being freed and helping others enjoy freedom in God's steadfast love." (BVM Constitutions #10) We do this today in a variety of ministries that include being educators, advocates for the elderly and underprivileged, hospital and hospice chaplains, prison and parish ministers, and spiritual guides.

In whatever way we feel called to minister, we try to do so in a spirit of joy and sharing in the great abundance of God's love that we find in community. We do so within a circle of friends who help us reach out to others in love.

Personal Stories