Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10
Sun, Sep 10
International Day of Peace Events
11
Mon, Sep 11
International Day of Peace Events
12
Tue, Sep 12
International Day of Peace Events
13
Wed, Sep 13
International Day of Peace Events
14
Thu, Sep 14
International Day of Peace Events
15
Fri, Sep 15
International Day of Peace Events
16
Sat, Sep 16
International Day of Peace Events
17
Sun, Sep 17
International Day of Peace Events
18
Mon, Sep 18
International Day of Peace Events
19
Tue, Sep 19
International Day of Peace Events
20
Wed, Sep 20
International Day of Peace Events
21
Thu, Sep 21
International Day of Peace
International Day of Peace Events
22
Fri, Sep 22
International Day of Peace Events
23
Sat, Sep 23
International Day of Peace Events
24
Sun, Sep 24
International Day of Peace Events
25
Mon, Sep 25
International Day of Peace Events
26
Tue, Sep 26
International Day of Peace Events
27
Wed, Sep 27
International Day of Peace Events
28
Thu, Sep 28
International Day of Peace Events
29
Fri, Sep 29
International Day of Peace Events
30
Sat, Sep 30
International Day of Peace Events
8th Day Center Gathering of Gratitude
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Vowed Membership

Who are we?

Mary Frances Clarke, our foundress, was a simple Irish woman who, together with her friends, began our community. Her deep faith in God and her love for the people in her life were always her focus. She was sensitive and kind and her letters often included freeing reminders of God's unfailing love. This spirit of freedom and the importance of relationships became part of the great legacy she left us.

Over five thousand women have entered the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the past one hundred seventy-five years and we continue to be inspired by Mother Clarke's tradition of keeping God at the center of our lives and cherishing relationships.

Our lives are dedicated to "being freed and helping others enjoy freedom in God's steadfast love." (BVM Constitutions #10) We do this today in a variety of ministries that include being educators, advocates for the elderly and underprivileged, hospital and hospice chaplains, prison and parish ministers, and spiritual guides.

In whatever way we feel called to minister, we try to do so in a spirit of joy and sharing in the great abundance of God's love that we find in community. We do so within a circle of friends who help us reach out to others in love.

Personal Stories