Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1
Thu, Jun 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Fri, Jun 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Sat, Jun 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Sun, Jun 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Mon, Jun 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Tue, Jun 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Wed, Jun 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Thu, Jun 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Fri, Jun 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Sat, Jun 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Sun, Jun 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Mon, Jun 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Tue, Jun 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Wed, Jun 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Thu, Jun 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Fri, Jun 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Sat, Jun 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Sun, Jun 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Mon, Jun 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Tue, Jun 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Wed, Jun 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Thu, Jun 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Fri, Jun 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Sat, Jun 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Sun, Jun 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Mon, Jun 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Tue, Jun 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Wed, Jun 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Thu, Jun 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Fri, Jun 30
LCWR National Assembly
1
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Frequently Asked Questions


    1. Who are the BVMs?
    The BVMs (Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary) are women who have lived their dreams since 1833, when five young women in Ireland left their homeland to educate Irish immigrant children in the United States. Ten years later the sisters' pioneering spirit led them to respond to the invitation of Bishop Matthias Loras of the Iowa Territory, to come to the frontier where teachers were desperately needed. Gradually the community expanded into a cross-country educational network.

    2. What are the ministries of the BVMs?
    Today the BVMs live out their core values of education, justice, charity and freedom in many ways:

    3. How many members are in the congregation?
    Currently BVMs number just under 500, with our active sisters serving in 17 states in the U.S., in Ecuador and Ghana. The pioneering spirit of the BVMs is rooted in love of God lived out in a sensitive, courageous and competent response to human needs.

    4. What is vowed religious life?
    A vow is a sacred promise. As women religious in the Catholic Church, we make public vows of celibacy, poverty and obedience to God. We vow to live for God alone and to serve God's people for the rest of our lives. Our vows free us for this life through which we hope to express God's love, mercy, compassion and justice.

    5. What is the difference between a nun and a sister?
    While nuns and sisters are both called "Sister," there is a distinction made in the Catholic Church which is generally not made by the public. Nuns take solemn vows and are cloistered, that is, they reside, pray and work within the confines of a monastery. Sisters take simple vows and live a life governed by the particular mission, vision and charism of the respective order or congregation of sisters. Sisters embrace ministries that take them out to serve the people in hospitals, schools, parishes, social services, and the like.

    6. What is a charism?
    The word charism means special character or gift which is the distinctive quality of a certain person or congregation. Just as one inherits certain physical and emotional features from one's ancestors, we religious women inherit certain characteristics and spirit from the founders of our individual congregations.

    FAQ's #4-6 adapted and used with permission of www.CatholicNunsToday.org.

    7. What is the charism of the BVMs?
    As Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, we are women who have been touched by God's steadfast love. In response to that love, we are moved to commit ourselves to a vowed life of faithfulness to the Lord, faithfulness to one another in community and faithfulness to God's people, especially the poor. This covenant relationship is a freeing one enabling us to risk responding to the pressing needs of our times, according to our gifts and in keeping with our BVM mission of being freed and helping others enjoy freedom in God's steadfast love. (BVM Directory #1)

    8. How can I learn more about BVMs?
    We invite you to explore our website, meet with a BVM Sister, or contact our Initial Membership Office for vowed membership or an Associate Coordinator for lay association.