Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
30 1
Mon, May 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Tue, May 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Wed, May 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Thu, May 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Fri, May 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Sat, May 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Sun, May 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Mon, May 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Tue, May 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Wed, May 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Thu, May 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Fri, May 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Sat, May 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Sun, May 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Mon, May 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Tue, May 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Wed, May 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Thu, May 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Fri, May 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Sat, May 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Sun, May 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Mon, May 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Tue, May 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Wed, May 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Thu, May 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Fri, May 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Sat, May 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Sun, May 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Mon, May 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Tue, May 30
LCWR National Assembly
31
Wed, May 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Resources

New Study by CARA Shows Solid Growth of Associates in Religious Orders

A new study entitled Partners in Mission: A Profile of Associates and Religious in the United States announces exciting growth in the numbers of associates affiliated with religious orders. Over 25,400 associates are counted, a growth of almost 11,000 since 1995 when the last survey was taken.

Associate directors of 1,100 religious institutes of women and men religious received questionnaires concerning the statistics, goals and activities of associates affiliated with their congregations. An accurate picture is emerging of laity who desire affiliation with religious congregations while living an independent life style as married or single folks.

Read the complete article.

Orders find new life in lay associates

by Patricia Lefevere Special Report Writer to the National Catholic Reporter

A new area of growth emerging in North American Catholicism-associate members of religious orders-is giving renewed life to those orders and a new role to laity who want to be part of the spirituality and work of religious communities.

Despite plummeting numbers of vocations over the past two decades, the vision and ministry of thousands of religious sisters and brothers are being expanded to "associates," lay men and women who form a special relationship with the orders but not as traditional sisters or brothers.

Read the complete article.

SALT Magazine

SALT Fall 2007
BVMs Celebrate 175 Years! Remembering the Journey:
Click here to download PDF.

SALT Winter 2008
Celebrating 175 Years of BVM Presence and Partnership
Click here to download PDF.

BVM Associate Reflects
by Norm Freund, BVM Associate