Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1
Thu, Jun 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Fri, Jun 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Sat, Jun 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Sun, Jun 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Mon, Jun 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Tue, Jun 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Wed, Jun 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Thu, Jun 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Fri, Jun 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Sat, Jun 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Sun, Jun 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Mon, Jun 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Tue, Jun 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Wed, Jun 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Thu, Jun 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Fri, Jun 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Sat, Jun 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Sun, Jun 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Mon, Jun 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Tue, Jun 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Wed, Jun 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Thu, Jun 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Fri, Jun 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Sat, Jun 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Sun, Jun 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Mon, Jun 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Tue, Jun 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Wed, Jun 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Thu, Jun 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Fri, Jun 30
LCWR National Assembly
1
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Intercongregational Ministries

In Illinois, Iowa and the Northwest, BVMs are engaged in works of justice, peace and charity.

8th Day Center for Justice 8th Day Center for Justice, Chicago, is a coalition of Catholic, religious congregations. It acts as a critical alternative voice to oppressive systems and works actively to change those systems. Sister Gwen Farry is on staff; other BVMs work on various projects of education and advocacy.




Project IRENE Project IRENE (Illinois Religious Engaging in Nonviolent Endeavors), Berwyn and Springfield, is an initiative of the Leadership Conference of Women Religious in Illinois. It promotes the welfare and empowerment of children and women by education and action, especially in the state legislative arena. They seek to make the cry of wounded children and women known, and impact systemic change. Sister Rose Mary Meyer is director.



Intercongregational Addictions Program of Education and Intervention Intercongregational Addictions Program of Education and Intervention (ICAP), River Forest, Illinois, assists sisters to get into recovery from addictions and supports those already in recovery by connecting them to each other and to resources. Sister Letitia Close is executive director; Sister Mary Gene Kinney is a counselor.



Intercommunity Peace and Justice Center, Seattle, Washington, promotes just structures in the church and world, with a particular focus on the Pacific Northwest. IPJC is sponsored by 16 religious communities, including the BVMs, and collaborates with Catholic, ecumenical, interfaith and other organizations in carrying out this mission. Sister Theresa Caluori is on the Board of Directors.


Opening Doors, Inc. Opening Doors, Inc., Dubuque, Iowa provides transitional housing for women and children and also emergency housing. Begun as a collaborative ministry of the religious communities in the Dubuque area, the programs of Maria House and Teresa Shelter give women a secure, stable environment to address their needs, pursue education and resume independent living. Sister Mary McCauley is on the Board of Directors.