Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 1
Wed, Mar 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Thu, Mar 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Fri, Mar 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Sat, Mar 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Sun, Mar 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Mon, Mar 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Tue, Mar 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Wed, Mar 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Thu, Mar 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Fri, Mar 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Sat, Mar 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Sun, Mar 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Mon, Mar 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Tue, Mar 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Wed, Mar 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Thu, Mar 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Fri, Mar 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Sat, Mar 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Sun, Mar 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Mon, Mar 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Tue, Mar 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Wed, Mar 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Thu, Mar 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Fri, Mar 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Sat, Mar 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Sun, Mar 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Mon, Mar 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Tue, Mar 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Wed, Mar 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Thu, Mar 30
LCWR National Assembly
“Immigrant Families Under Fire—A Call to Compassion in the Heartland”
31
Fri, Mar 31
LCWR National Assembly
1
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Intercongregational Ministries

In Illinois, Iowa and the Northwest, BVMs are engaged in works of justice, peace and charity.

8th Day Center for Justice 8th Day Center for Justice, Chicago, is a coalition of Catholic, religious congregations. It acts as a critical alternative voice to oppressive systems and works actively to change those systems. Sister Gwen Farry is on staff; other BVMs work on various projects of education and advocacy.




Project IRENE Project IRENE (Illinois Religious Engaging in Nonviolent Endeavors), Berwyn and Springfield, is an initiative of the Leadership Conference of Women Religious in Illinois. It promotes the welfare and empowerment of children and women by education and action, especially in the state legislative arena. They seek to make the cry of wounded children and women known, and impact systemic change. Sister Rose Mary Meyer is director.



Intercongregational Addictions Program of Education and Intervention Intercongregational Addictions Program of Education and Intervention (ICAP), River Forest, Illinois, assists sisters to get into recovery from addictions and supports those already in recovery by connecting them to each other and to resources. Sister Letitia Close is executive director; Sister Mary Gene Kinney is a counselor.



Intercommunity Peace and Justice Center, Seattle, Washington, promotes just structures in the church and world, with a particular focus on the Pacific Northwest. IPJC is sponsored by 16 religious communities, including the BVMs, and collaborates with Catholic, ecumenical, interfaith and other organizations in carrying out this mission. Sister Theresa Caluori is on the Board of Directors.


Opening Doors, Inc. Opening Doors, Inc., Dubuque, Iowa provides transitional housing for women and children and also emergency housing. Begun as a collaborative ministry of the religious communities in the Dubuque area, the programs of Maria House and Teresa Shelter give women a secure, stable environment to address their needs, pursue education and resume independent living. Sister Mary McCauley is on the Board of Directors.