Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
30 1
Mon, May 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Tue, May 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Wed, May 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Thu, May 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Fri, May 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Sat, May 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Sun, May 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Mon, May 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Tue, May 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Wed, May 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Thu, May 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Fri, May 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Sat, May 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Sun, May 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Mon, May 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Tue, May 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Wed, May 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Thu, May 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Fri, May 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Sat, May 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Sun, May 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Mon, May 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Tue, May 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Wed, May 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Thu, May 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Fri, May 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Sat, May 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Sun, May 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Mon, May 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Tue, May 30
LCWR National Assembly
31
Wed, May 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

Fragments of Wisdom

Wisdom Pieces: Fragments of the Wisdom of Mary Frances Clarke

by Sister Mary Frances Reis, BVM

These fragments are pieces of wisdom drawn from the sparse writings of BVM founder Mary Frances Clarke—a woman who lived the Word all of her life and whose words reflect the fire of that Word.

You are invited to savor these words, inhaling their power and energy.


  • Gently come into the quiet
  • Breathe slowing a simple mantra of your own
  • Read the selection several times
  • Allow it to touch your imagination and heart
  • Be still
  • Close your time of meditation by asking:
    What was Mary Frances Clarke saying?
    What meaning do her words have for me today?

Mary Frances Clarke's Fragments of Wisdom

Who We Are

They shall frequently call to mind
the name and title of
“Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary,”
with which they are honored,
and endeavor to render themselves worthy of it,
by a true and sincere love of God and their neighbor.

They shall,
above all things
cherish and respect one another,
as true Sisters whom our Lord has united together
in His service by a special profession of charity;
and do their utmost to preserve
a perfect union among themselves.

Article 8, Handwritten Rule, 1845

Print


» Click here to View Archives