Donate Now

Event Calendar

Next
S M T W T F S
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
Sat, Jul 1
LCWR National Assembly
2
Sun, Jul 2
LCWR National Assembly
3
Mon, Jul 3
LCWR National Assembly
4
Tue, Jul 4
LCWR National Assembly
5
Wed, Jul 5
LCWR National Assembly
6
Thu, Jul 6
LCWR National Assembly
7
Fri, Jul 7
LCWR National Assembly
8
Sat, Jul 8
LCWR National Assembly
9
Sun, Jul 9
LCWR National Assembly
10
Mon, Jul 10
LCWR National Assembly
11
Tue, Jul 11
LCWR National Assembly
12
Wed, Jul 12
LCWR National Assembly
13
Thu, Jul 13
LCWR National Assembly
14
Fri, Jul 14
LCWR National Assembly
15
Sat, Jul 15
LCWR National Assembly
16
Sun, Jul 16
LCWR National Assembly
17
Mon, Jul 17
LCWR National Assembly
18
Tue, Jul 18
LCWR National Assembly
19
Wed, Jul 19
LCWR National Assembly
20
Thu, Jul 20
LCWR National Assembly
21
Fri, Jul 21
LCWR National Assembly
22
Sat, Jul 22
LCWR National Assembly
23
Sun, Jul 23
LCWR National Assembly
24
Mon, Jul 24
LCWR National Assembly
25
Tue, Jul 25
LCWR National Assembly
26
Wed, Jul 26
LCWR National Assembly
27
Thu, Jul 27
LCWR National Assembly
28
Fri, Jul 28
LCWR National Assembly
29
Sat, Jul 29
LCWR National Assembly
30
Sun, Jul 30
Set of 1967 50th Jubilee
LCWR National Assembly
31
Mon, Jul 31
LCWR National Assembly
1 2 3 4 5
Mary Francis Clarke Photograph
Members Login
leaves

BVM Spirituality

Mary Frances ClarkeSpirituality is knowing God in the interconnectedness of all beings, in all relationships, in all of life. Our BVM spirituality is steeped in the legacy left us by our foundress Mary Frances Clarke. Her dedication to following the will of God and to the circle of friends that surrounded her, were at the core of who she was. Contemplation and action are hallmarks of BVM spirituality today. Ours is a 'hands-on' spirituality. We strive to be centered in God while doing what we can to minister to God's people.



Sisters Reflect on BVM Spirituality

BVM Sister "BVM Spirituality is marked by its origins as a circle of friends committed to one another and to mission. There is a genuine acceptance of one another and of diversity."




BVM Sister "Mary Frances Clarke's spirituality is communicated to us in what she did and in letters—this gives to us a picture of a contemplative in action. She sought the will of God in prayer and in the daily events of her life . . . She prayed novenas and unloaded wagons. This gives BVMs a feet on the ground spirituality."



BVM Sister "BVMs cherish a variety of spiritualities impacted by the Gospels, option with the poor, emphasis on women's concerns, Celtic spirituality, labyrinths, ecofeminism, feminism, Hesed, Eucharist in multiple expressions, politics, justice activities, multicultural influences, creation, Universe."

Excerpts from Mary Frances Clarke's Letters

BVM founder Mary Frances Clarke lived the Word all of her life and her words reflect the fire of that Word. Below are excerpts from her letters. Click on image to view in more detail. To learn more of Mary Frances Clarke's spirituality, reflect on Fragments of Wisdom from her letters.